On June 26th, the Supreme Court ruled in favor of marriage equality nationwide. In a 5 to 4 ruling, the Court found that same-sex couples should be allowed to marry regardless of their location. Prior to this historic decision, 14 states prohibited same-sex couples from seeking a legal marriage license with full benefits and protections, as outlined in the U.S. Constitution.


“Under the Constitution, same-sex couples seek in marriage the same legal treatment as opposite-sex couples, and it would disparage their choices and diminish their personhood to deny them this right,” wrote Justice Anthony M. Kennedy in the historic court decision. He was joined in the ruling by the court’s liberal justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen G. Breyer, Sonia Sotomayor, and Elena Kagan.


Support for this ruling was hailed nationwide, including the support of President Barack Obama. “This ruling is a victory for America. This decision affirms what millions of Americans already believe in their hearts. When all Americans are truly treated as equal, we are more free," said the President in a statement from the White House Rose Garden.


Click to read the entirety of the Supreme Court ruling.